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An act to amend Section 30823 of, and to add Section 30821 to, the Public 
Resources Code, relating to coastal resources. 

 
 

LEGISLATIVE COUNSELʹS DIGEST
 
AB 976, as amended, Atkins. Coastal resources: California Coastal Act of 1976: enforcement: penalties.

(1) The California Coastal Act of 1976 requires a person undertaking development in the coastal zone to obtain 
a coastal development permit in accordance with prescribed procedures. Existing law authorizes the superior 
court to impose civil liability on a person who performs or undertakes development that is in violation of the act 
or that is inconsistent with a previously issued coastal development permit, and on a person who violates the 
act in any other manner.

This bill would provide that a person who violates the act is subject to an administrative civil penalty that may 
be imposed by the California Coastal Commission by a majority vote of the commissioners, upon consideration 
of various factors, in an amount not to exceed 75% of the maximum civil penalty that may be imposed in the 
superior court, as specified.

This bill would provide that a person, as defined, shall not be subject to both monetary civil liability imposed by 
the commission and monetary civil liability imposed by the superior court for the same act or failure to act. In 
the event that a person who is assessed a penalty by the commission fails to pay the penalty, fails to comply 
with a restoration or cease and desist order, or challenges any of these actions in a court of law, the 
commission may maintain an action or otherwise engage in judicial proceedings to enforce those requirements 
and the court may grant relief, as specified. This bill would also allow the commission to record a lien on the 
property of a violator in the amount of the penalty assessed by the commission if the violator fails to pay the 
penalty.

(2) The act requires that all funds derived from the payment of a penalty are to be deposited into the Violation 
Remediation Account of the State Coastal Conservancy Fund, until appropriated by the Legislature, for purposes 
of carrying out the act.
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This bill would instead require provide that all $1,500,000 of the funds annually derived from the payment of a 
penalty be deposited into the that Violation Remediation Account, as adjusted, and that any additional funds be 
deposited in the Coastal Act Services Fund, until appropriated by the Legislature, for the purposes of carrying 
out the act.

Vote: majority   Appropriation: no   Fiscal Committee: yes   Local Program: no  

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:
 
SECTION 1. Section 30821 is added to the Public Resources Code, to read:

30821. (a) In addition to any other penalties imposed pursuant to this division, a person, including a landowner, 
who is in violation of a provision of this division is subject to an administrative civil penalty that may be 
imposed by the commission in an amount not to exceed 75 percent of the amount of the maximum penalty 
authorized pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 30820 for each violation. 

(b) All penalties imposed pursuant to subdivision (a) shall be imposed by majority vote of the commissioners 
present in a duly noticed public hearing in compliance with the requirements of Section 30810, 30811, or 
30812. 

(c) In determining the amount of civil liability, the commission shall take into account the factors set forth in 
subdivision (c) of Section 30820. 

(d) A person shall not be subject to both monetary civil liability imposed under this section and monetary civil 
liability imposed by the superior court for the same act or failure to act. In the event that a person who is 
assessed a penalty under this section fails to pay the administrative penalty, otherwise fails to comply with a 
restoration or cease and desist order issued by the commission in connection with the penalty action, or 
challenges any of these actions by the commission in a court of law, the commission may maintain an action or 
otherwise engage in judicial proceedings to enforce those requirements and the court may grant any relief as 
provided under this chapter. 

(e) If a person fails to pay a penalty imposed by the commission pursuant to this section, the commission may 
record a lien on the property in the amount of the penalty assessed by the commission. This lien shall have the 
force, effect, and priority of a judgment lien. 

(f) In enacting this section, it is not the intent of the Legislature that unintentional, minor violations that only 
cause de minimis harm should lead to civil penalties, if the violator has acted expeditiously to correct the 
violation consistent with this act.

(g) “Person,” for the purpose of this section, does not include a local government, a special district, or an 
agency thereof when acting in a legislative or adjudicative capacity.

SEC. 2. Section 30823 of the Public Resources Code is amended to read:

30823.All funds derived under this article shall be deposited in the Coastal Act Services Fund, established 
pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 30620.1, until appropriated by the Legislature, for the purpose of 
carrying out this division.

30823. (a) (1) Except as provided in subdivision (b), of the funds annually derived pursuant to this article, one 
million five hundred thousand dollars ($1,500,000) shall be deposited in the Violation Remediation Account of 
the State Coastal Conservancy Fund.

(2) The one million five hundred thousand dollars ($1,500,000) specified in paragraph (1) shall be adjusted 
annually, based on the percentage change in the California Consumer Price Index, as determined pursuant to 
Section 2212 of the Revenue and Taxation Code.

(b) Any additional funds derived pursuant to this article that exceed the annual amount determined pursuant to 
subdivision (a) shall be deposited in the Coastal Act Services Fund, established pursuant to subdivision (a) of 
Section 30620.1, until appropriated by the Legislature, for the purpose of carrying out this division.
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